

# Effect of Sabbatical on Assigned Time and Release Time- Handbook Change

#### **RES 232432**

FAC

### **RESOLVED:**

That the Academic Senate recommend revisions to the University Handbook regarding the assigned time for members of the UPRC and URC (additions in **bold underline**, deletions in strikethrough). Changes have been made to reflect the current compositions of these committees. Additionally, language reflecting the WTU in assigned time associated with service on these committees is being added.

### **202.4.1 University Program Review (UPRC)**

The University Program Review Committee (UPRC) is a faculty committee that is responsible for all CSUB degree and credential programs. UPRC reviews all documents submitted to it from the program, dean, and external reviewer (accreditation findings), in order to assess the extent to which CSUB's programs adopt reasoned strategies and resource allocation decisions for continuous improvement. Thus, it is expected that program faculty will use UPRC feedback to improve program quality.

The UPRC is regarded as an important committee with respect to program continuity and, in that capacity, UPRC can make recommendations for program improvement and advancement. However, from time to time, the UPRC may determine that it is necessary for the campus to stop offering a particular program either on a temporary or permanent basis. In such a circumstance, UPRC may recommend a program moratorium (temporary) or discontinuation.

The UPRC is also responsible for monitoring the overall program review process, recommending changes in the policy and procedures of that process, and assuring that program review findings are used transparently and with accountability to inform university-wide curricular and budgetary planning processes. Finally, at the end of the academic year the chair of the UPRC shall submit to the Academic Senate a summary of the major findings and recommendations for all programs reviewed.

The UPRC is composed of seven committee members; Four (4) Tenured Faculty members, one (1) elected from and by each of the four Schools to serve staggered two-year calendar terms; Two (2) At-Large Tenured Faculty members elected by the General Faculty; and One (1) Tenured Faculty member selected by the Senate Executive Committee. Each member is given three WTUs of assigned time for his/her service each year of their service. If a committee member is awarded and

takes a sabbatical during their term, they will forfeit their position on the committee and an election shall be run by the Academic Senate for a replacement representative to serve during the year of the sabbatical and complete any remaining term associated with the replaced position.

## **305.8 The University Review Committee (URC)**

### 305.8.1 Membership on the URC

The six (6) members of the URC shall be tenured professors, librarians, or counselors. The committee shall select its own chair, who participates in the evaluations and votes on the recommendations. No member of the URC may serve on a unit RTP committee.

Faculty members serving as Chair of the Academic Senate/Faculty, President of the CFA, or Director of the Teaching and Learning Center are not eligible to serve on the URC. Department chairs, faculty members who have served on the URC within the last six years, and faculty members who have served two terms on the URC may choose to accept or decline nomination for election to the URC. A faculty member may decline nomination if he/she is the *only* tenured professor available to serve on the unit RTP committee. All other tenured professors and librarians and counselors of equivalent rank are obligated to accept nomination for election to the URC.

Each member is given three WTUs of assigned time for each year of service. If a committee member is awarded and takes a sabbatical during their term, they will forfeit their position on the committee and an election shall be run by the Academic Senate for a replacement representative to serve during the year of the sabbatical and complete any remaining term associated with the replaced position.

#### 305.8.2 Election of URC Members

The six (6) members of the URC shall be full-time tenured faculty, at the rank of Full Professor or Full Librarian. The election of the six (6) members of the URC shall precede unit RTP committee elections. One member shall be elected by and from the School of Arts & Humanities, the School of Business and Public Administration, the School of Social Sciences & Education, and the School of Natural Sciences, Mathematics & Engineering. Two additional faculty members shall be elected at-large. Librarians and counselors (academically-related III) shall be eligible to serve as an at-large member and shall participate in the election of the at-large members. A liaison from the library will be elected by the faculty of the library if no other librarians are on the committee to assist with the review of librarian files. Members shall be elected to over-lapping two-year terms.

**Rationale:** Current WTU in assigned time is awarded at the rate of 3 WTU for the second year of service as part of a two-year term for the UPRC, but according to the *Academic Program Review Policy and Procedures* (Fall 2020) each member of the UPRC "is given three WTUs of assigned time *per year* for the two-year service." The proposed language aligns with this and aligns the WTUs associated with URC service.

The newly proposed language addresses the occurrence of sabbaticals during a term of service on one of these committees. Currently, positions remain vacant during a sabbatical and this places an undue burden on remaining committee members. This also creates confusion related to who gets the assigned time (e.g., the elected member or an alternate member). We recommend that the new policy be adopted, which stipulates that a sabbatical will result in the forfeiture of a committee position and an election will be held to find a replacement to serve for the sabbatical year and to complete the term.

#### **Distribution List:**

President

Provost and VP for Academic Affairs

**VP Student Affairs** 

**AVP Faculty Affairs** 

AVP Academic Affairs and Dean of Academic Programs

School Deans

Dean of Libraries

Dean of Antelope Valley

Dean of Extended University and Global Outreach

**Department Chairs** 

**General Faculty** 

Approved by the Academic Senate: May 9, 2024

Sent to the President: May 23, 2024 President Approved: July 9, 2024