

Academic Senate: Elections & Appointments

May 1, 2025

Important Election Results & Announcements

Results of Senate Constitution Change Special Election – PASSED

RES 242515 (Bylaws and Handbook Changes in Response to ASCSU Constitution Ratification) proposes to amend the Constitution and must be approved by a vote

• 78% in favor, 21% against

Call for Interest – Academic Standing Committee Appointments

- <u>Qualtrics form</u> is due by TOMORROW (Friday, May 2nd) at 5pm
- 2025-26 senators must complete the form (all other faculty/staff are invited to do so)

Call for Interest – Academic Standing Committee Chairs

- <u>Qualtrics form</u> is due by Monday, May 5th at 5pm
- Only open to 2025-26 senators; must be available for EC Meetings on Tuesdays @ 10am



Spring 2025 Call Cycle

- 1. Statewide Senator *Completed*
- 2. Senators for Colleges *Completed*
- 3. Senators At-Large *Completed*
- 4. College Elected Positions on Committees Completed
- 5. Lecturer Electorate Representative *Completed*
- 6. At-Large Elected Positions on Committees Completed
- 7. College appointed positions on committees *Run by colleges (in progress)*
- 8. At-Large and unfilled college appointed positions *Call to go out next week via Qualtrics form*



Results of College Appointed Positions (1 of 2)

Academic Petitions Committee (APC)

- BPA: Najmeh Kamyabi Economics
- NSME: Edward Kish Nursing

Academic Integrity Policy Violations Committee

- A&H: Kyung Jung Han Communications
- BPA: John Stark Management/Marketing
- NSME: Reverted to At-Large
- SSE: 2nd call in progress

All University Teacher Education Committee (TEAC)

- A&H: Senem Saner Philosophy & Religious Studies
- A&H: Matthew Hanne Music & Theatre
- SSE: Katt Bongar Hoban Sociology

Artificial Intelligence Committee (AIC)

• Library: Amanda Grombly

Auxiliary for Sponsored Programs Administration (SPA)

- A&H: EC recommendation sent to the President
- BPA: EC recommendation sent to the President



Results of College Appointed Positions (2 of 2)

Graduate Writing Assessment Requirement (GWAR) Committee

• BPA: Jinping Sun – Public Policy and Administration

Institutional Research and Planning (IRPA) Advisory Committee

- A&H: Charles MacQuarrie English
- BPA: Di Wu Finance/Accounting
- NSME: Reverted to At-Large
- SSE: Reverted to At-Large

Mobile Application Steering Committee

• Library: Ying Zhong



Elected Positions Currently in Progress

Academic Administrator Review Committee (AARC) for Karlo Lopez, Associate Dean for the College of Natural Sciences, Mathematics, & Engineering

• **THIRD** call in progress for three tenured, NSME faculty members

Academic Administrator Review Committee (AARC) for Terry Hickey, Associate Dean for the College of Social Sciences & Education

• **THIRD** call in progress for three tenured, SSE faculty members



2024-25 College Election Committees

Arts and Humanities

- Douglas Dodd (Chair)
- Joel Haney
- Lena Taub
- Admin Support: Adrianna Hook

Business and Public Administration

- Richard Gearhart (Chair)
- Di Wu
- Atieh Poushneh
- Jinping Sun
- Admin Support: Maria Diaz

Natural Sciences, Mathematics, and Engineering

- Prosper Torsu (Chair)
- Alberto Cruz
- Sophia Raczkowski
- Admin Support: Maria Chavez

Social Science and Education

- Dirk Horn (Chair)
- Patrick O'Neill
- Dahna Stowe
- Admin Support: Alex Alva



