

Academic Senate: Elections & Appointments

April 10, 2025

Important Election Results & Announcements

Lecturer Electorate Representative

• **Elected:** Dirk Horn – Political Science – Congratulations!

SPECIAL ELECTION IN PROGRESS Senate Constitution Change

RES 242515 (Bylaws and Handbook Changes in Response to ASCSU Constitution Ratification) proposes to amend the Constitution and must be approved by a vote

Election currently in progress – Closes TOMORROW (Friday, April 11 at 5pm)

Faculty Ombudsperson

Call was sent out then recalled – Clarifying term length



Academic Standing Committees

Call for Interest - Academic Standing Committee Appointments

- Qualtrics form is now available
- 2025-26 senators must complete the form
- All other faculty/staff are invited to complete the form
- You may be prompted to login via SSO
- Form must be completed by Friday, May 2nd at 5pm

Call for Interest - Academic Standing Committee Chairs

- Qualtrics form is now available
- Only open to 2025-26 senators
- You may be prompted to login via SSO
- Form must be completed by Monday, May 5th at 5pm
- Must be available to attend Senate Executive Committee Meetings on Tuesdays @ 10am



Spring 2025 Call Cycle

- 1. Statewide Senator *Completed*
- 2. Senators for Colleges *Completed*
- 3. Senators At-Large *Completed*
- 4. College Elected Positions on Committees Completed
- 5. Lecturer Electorate Representative *Completed*
- At-Large Elected Positions on Committees Completed
- 7. College appointed positions on committees run by colleges (in progress)
- 8. At-Large and unfilled college appointed positions *including unfilled college positions* and elected positions with no nominations after second calls



Results of At-Large Elected Positions

Committee on Professional Responsibility (CPR)

Anna Jacobsen – Biology

Faculty Honors & Awards Committee (FHAC)

Gitika Commuri – Political Science

Faculty Teaching & Learning Center Advisory Board (FTLC)

 Lena Taub Robles – Modern Languages and Literatures

Student-Centered Enterprises, Inc. (SEI) Board

• Elijah Enos – Library

University Council

- Craig Harnetiaux Kinesiology
- Senem Saner Philosophy & Religious Studies

University Program Review Committee (UPRC)

• Sarah Forester – Chemistry & Biochemistry

University Review Committee (URC)

Paul Smith – Biology



Calls for College Appointed Positions (1 of 2)

Academic Petitions Committee (APC)

• BPA: Call in progress

NSME: Call in progress

Academic Integrity Policy Violations Committee

A&H: Call in progress

• BPA: Call in progress

NSME: Call in progress

SSE: Call in progress

All University Teacher Education Committee (TEAC)

A&H: Call in progress

A&H: Call in progress

SSE: Call in progress

Artificial Intelligence Committee (AIC)

Library: Call in progress

Auxiliary for Sponsored Programs Administration (SPA)

A&H: Call in progress

• BPA: Call in progress



Calls for College Appointed Positions (2 of 2)

Graduate Writing Assessment Requirement (GWAR) Committee

BPA: Call in progress

Institutional Research and Planning (IRPA) Advisory Committee

• A&H: Call in progress

BPA: Call in progress

• NSME: Call in progress

• SSE: Call in progress

Mobile Application Steering Committee

• Library: Call in progress



Elected Positions Currently in Progress

Academic Administrator Review Committee (AARC) for Karlo Lopez, Associate Dean for the College of Natural Sciences, Mathematics, & Engineering

Call in progress for three tenured, NSME faculty members

Academic Administrator Review Committee (AARC) for Terry Hickey, Associate Dean for the College of Social Sciences & Education

Call in progress for three tenured, SSE faculty members



2024-25 College Election Committees

Arts and Humanities

- Douglas Dodd (Chair)
- Joel Haney
- Lena Taub
- Admin Support: Adrianna Hook

Business and Public Administration

- Richard Gearhart (Chair)
- Di Wu
- Atieh Poushneh
- Jinping Sun
- Admin Support: Maria Diaz

Natural Sciences, Mathematics, and Engineering

- Prosper Torsu (Chair)
- Alberto Cruz
- Sophia Raczkowski
- Admin Support: Maria Chavez

Social Science and Education

- Dirk Horn (Chair)
- Patrick O'Neill
- Dahna Stowe
- Admin Support: Alex Alva



